Rx held by pharmacist for 3 days!

New Topic Post Reply Printable Version
[ << Previous Thread | Next Thread >> ]

Porteyoz
Regular Member


Date Joined Apr 2008
Total Posts : 33
   Posted 8/2/2008 3:22 PM (GMT -7)   
I just picked up my monthly presciption of Norco/6day. I went to the dr on thurs last week because last month he switched me to oxy 10/norco 3/day for bt. Anyway, that combo didn't work so well and I had to take 4/day of Norco (making me 4 days early) I also explained that we were going camping this weekend (since cancelled due to pain/kidney infection-r/s for next weekend)...anyway, my dr said /wrote rx for thurs 31st (not really due until monday) and he even wrote on rx that it was an "early refill"...to make a long story short, i dropped it off at the pharmacy (same one I've been at for 3 years) and they said "it'll be ready in 30min" so I take my daughter to get lunch and my cell rings...it's the pharmacist asking about a "patient who just dropped off her rx...blah, blah" I said "I'm the patient..I think youre trying to reach my dr?" He said yes, that he "called the wrong #" so I hang up and wonder...I called the pharmacy back in about 10 mins and he says"I spoke with your dr and he says to hold this rx until sat" I said that's weird because I just left his office after he said it would be okay to pick up today" the pharmacist said" well, you can't pick up until sat" (that blew all our plans out of the water...besides being in pain) I go to get today and had no problem...but have been out of Norco's for last 3 days (extreme pain-didn't sleep...) has anyone had this happen to them? I've been taking the same rx/strength for many years in 2 different states and always got 3 refills and never had a problem picking them up early for whatever reason....so, what's up with that? I now fear that some kind of "red flag" is now associated with my name at both the pharmacy and my dr's....for no reason. I've always been very honest and don't cause any drama ever, this just made me so angry. I feel very discriminated against for being a chronic pain patient...I almost feel like making some kind of "complaint" for being discriminated against. I work in the medical field and have seen much larger doses/amounts than me!By the way, I don't take any other meds....weird. mad

Scarred_for_life
Veteran Member


Date Joined Jul 2008
Total Posts : 1559
   Posted 8/2/2008 3:42 PM (GMT -7)   
Oh wow!! I guess I have been very lucky with my pharmacy. Been going to the same pharmacy for the last 8 years steady and off and on before that for 3 years. So I guess I do not have an answer to your question but I can tell you that my pharmacy has always been very good with communicating with me about my scripts. With the exception of a few that did not make it through (like my Lunestia today which I called in two weeks ago and I will not be able to find out what happened to until Monday) and had to be recalled in or refaxed in I have been able to get questions answered and scripts filled with no problems.

I am so sorry that this has happened to you and I wish that there was something I could say to make it easier for your sleep and pain. Wouldn't it be great if all's we had to do is twitch our noses and boom the pain was gone or the pain pills instantly refilled? I think that they should come up with some sort of extra days pills for us that are in tremendous pain so that we didn't have to go through the wait.

By the way; I am now at that "In Between time" where I am patiently (not really LOL) for my time to take meds and it is sooooo bad I wanna cry!

Your in pain.....totally fed up with this......friend

Scarred or Scarry which ever you wanna call me LOL
HEALTH ISSUES: Herniated discs at S-1-L5, L5-L4, L4-L3. Two level fusion (2000); one level fusion (2002); Revision at L4-L3 (2003). Diagnosed with Failed Back Syndrome, Permanent Nerve damage and Chronic Pain

Medications:

Kadian, Lexipro, Percocet, Temazapim, Lunista, and Robaxin.


ryand
Veteran Member


Date Joined Dec 2007
Total Posts : 639
   Posted 8/2/2008 5:09 PM (GMT -7)   
Porteyoz:

I'm sorry to hear you were without meds for 3 days. That just stinks. This definitely sounds strange. Did you call your doctor's office and ask them what the problem was? You said you took more than was prescribed for several days before you got in to see him, right? Had you called the doctor and gotten clearance for that first? I have had situations where my doc has prescribed a new med and it didn't work so when I called the office they instructed me to increase the amount I was taking, which meant I needed a new script earlier than anticipated. But then the new script was written for the increased dose, so it didn't seem to be an issue.

If your doctor gave you clearance to take the extra amount and then wrote you a script for the increased dose, it seems unlikely he would instruct the pharmacy to withhold the meds. I would call your doctor's office and get their side of this story before you file a complaint. It's possible that the pharmacy called them and said something to the effect of "her insurance will not allow us to do an early refill, we have to hold it okay?" and then the doc said "okay" which the pharmacy then communicated to you as "the doctor told us to hold it."

If you took the extra doses without the doctor's prior approval, it is possible that the doctor did approve the hold. When you spoke to him, did he say anything about not taking more than the prescribed amount? Was the new script for an increased dose?

Again, I'm so sorry you had this happen. I hope you have a dose that is working for you now so you won't have to go through this again.

Ry

tom inpain
Regular Member


Date Joined Jul 2008
Total Posts : 239
   Posted 8/2/2008 5:41 PM (GMT -7)   
Hi Oz: I totally agree with Ry. I ask my Doc's to write on the script ( increase in dosage ) or whatever change in med type etc. I have all kinds of pharmacy problems. Sorry I feel bad for You.
Tom Lasko


Tirzah
Veteran Member


Date Joined Jul 2008
Total Posts : 2279
   Posted 8/2/2008 7:34 PM (GMT -7)   
You should be able to pick the script back up any time before it's filled.

I've done that before & taken it to another pharmacy to get it filled. Who knows what the pharmacy actually said to your doc. Maybe try another pharmacy to see if the same thing happens or it is was just that particular pharmacist.

Porteyoz
Regular Member


Date Joined Apr 2008
Total Posts : 33
   Posted 8/3/2008 5:45 AM (GMT -7)   
thanks for your responses. I did explain to my dr about needing refill earlly and he said "no problem"and wrote it for that day (31st)...they oxy's just didn't do anything "extra" for me (I was scripted #30 oxy's for a 2 week trial) but didn't notice any significant change (ie:longer lasting) I think 10mg isn't strong enough...but anyway, he said we'll just go back to your usual "norco/6day" and said you can pick up today since your going camping...I just dropp off at pharmacy and then that's when the problem started...whatever the pharmacist said to my dr or if the pharmacist took it upon himself to "hold" them I don't know. I called my insurance (and on the bottle the date says "31st"<when I picked up on Sat 2nd) and they said they filled it on the 31st...so, it wasn't the insurance. I just don't want to become a "problem patient"..you know? I will speak with my doc on my next visit at the end of the month, but I'm not going to cause any problems.My doc is still insisting I switch to oxys (I just don't want "heavier" medication if this is working for me..) He gave me a discount coupon to get $50.00 off oxy rx...for next time. I forgot to mention earlier that because I had stopped taking the oxy's (and had about 8 left at the time of my appt..he wanted me to give them to the pharmacist to be destroyed...I paid $63.00 for them! I didn't say a word and he changed his mind in the next breath and said "just hold on to them, since I want to switch you next visit" what's with changing my meds if what I have is still working and it's a much lower dose/strength and "schedule narcotic"? Those oxy's last 12 hours in your system...and are much harder to come off of! Today I feel "myself" again and we are going for a family hike...going to be beautiful...If only they knew what a difference a little "pill" makes in the quality of our lives!

ryand
Veteran Member


Date Joined Dec 2007
Total Posts : 639
   Posted 8/3/2008 9:29 AM (GMT -7)   
Porteyoz:

Oh I feel for you friend! The more I hear about this, the more the pharmacy sounds WAY out of line here. If that script was filled, dated, and billed to your insurance on the 31st, it should have been in your hands on the 31st. That is just ridiculous. And it sounds like your doctor was in the loop the whole time, so it doesn't make sense that he would tell them to hold it. That makes me think even more that he got played (by the pharmacy) in the whole situation too. I totally understand what you are saying about not wanting to rock the boat, though. We are, unfortunately, in a precarious position as patients dependent upon these types of medications.

I am also right there with you on the Oxy issue. Like you, I've been through docs trying to switch me over to Kadian or Oxy and off the Percocet that I usually took for pain control. Each time, I found that the meds did NOT work, but only after spending outrageous amounts on co-pays for 2-week "trial" period prescriptions. Absurd. Eventually, I found that the only thing that really works for me is to take Oxy AND Percocet for BT. But of course, although my PCP would like to see me on that regimen, my PM believes that combination to be too much medication for me since I do not have cancer. It is really frustrating, isn't it?

One thing I would warn you about before you try the Oxy again... My pharmacist was going to give me one of those coupons last time I tried the Oxy, but we read the fine print and it said that only patients who did not have any insurance coverage at all could use the coupon. Hopefully yours is different than the one my pharmacist had, but I would be sure to read the fine print before you get stuck with another high co-pay.

I'm so glad you are feeling better today. Hope your hike was delightful fun!
Ry

Porteyoz
Regular Member


Date Joined Apr 2008
Total Posts : 33
   Posted 8/5/2008 2:58 PM (GMT -7)   
as far as changing to another pharmacy...I am in a "pain contract" that requires me to use the same pharmacy at all times.Unfortunately! I guess I can speak with my dr at my next visit and ask if it's ok to switch, but I doubt it. (have been using same pharmacy for 3 years) *before that we were living in Illinois and used the same pharmacy for 5 years (small town, so they went way out of their way for me more than once) Guess it's just different with the big chains (W*****ns)! I really miss the small town in that regard...I never had any problems getting my meds/refills even..no u/a's, no contracts, just Trust between me and my dr (unfortunately she moved away also right after we moved to Colorado for work) By the way, my hubby went to the dr today re;neck pain he's had since a MVA last year (last june) and they said he has "DDD, Osteophytes and foraminal narrowing/pinching" he was prescribed Vicodin 5mg #30 for a month and is to start PT next week...what kind of PT do they do for that? Just curious.....(my pain is "kidney" not neck/back or limb)
New Topic Post Reply Printable Version
Forum Information
Currently it is Saturday, December 03, 2016 8:54 PM (GMT -7)
There are a total of 2,732,386 posts in 301,013 threads.
View Active Threads


Who's Online
This forum has 151175 registered members. Please welcome our newest member, melissapsa.
306 Guest(s), 14 Registered Member(s) are currently online.  Details
PeteZa, desert bound, Ides, Scaredy Cat, Girlie, Uniform Charlie, DennisinNY, Canaveral, poohcheez, Mustard Seed, puppylover, Ggrlsav, Labradorite, julymorning


Follow HealingWell.com on Facebook  Follow HealingWell.com on Twitter  Follow HealingWell.com on Pinterest
Advertisement
Advertisement

©1996-2016 HealingWell.com LLC  All rights reserved.

Advertise | Privacy Policy & Disclaimer