Grain Intolerance

New Topic Post Reply Printable Version
[ << Previous Thread | Next Thread >> ]

Gentlefoot
New Member


Date Joined Oct 2006
Total Posts : 3
   Posted 10/13/2006 4:09 AM (GMT -7)   
Does anyone else out there have an intolerance to all grains? i.e. wheat, barley, oats, corn, rice. It makes things really tricky as most 'wheat free' products contain these alternatives to wheat. Oh yeah and I can't eat lactose or shellfish either. My diet is becoming somewhat monolithic and am hoping there are others out there with the same problem.

Keriamon
Veteran Member


Date Joined Jun 2005
Total Posts : 2976
   Posted 10/13/2006 7:23 AM (GMT -7)   
I'm thinking that those things all contain gluten? Health food stores do carry some gluten-free products that might be something you can eat.

Gentlefoot
New Member


Date Joined Oct 2006
Total Posts : 3
   Posted 10/13/2006 8:05 AM (GMT -7)   
I think you might be right. I can eat gram flour which comes from chickpea and doesn't contain gluten I don't think.

Keriamon
Veteran Member


Date Joined Jun 2005
Total Posts : 2976
   Posted 10/13/2006 9:00 AM (GMT -7)   
I just bumped up an older post of mine that contains a link to an article on alternate grains. I believe that the amaranth that they mention is gluten-free. I first read about it in a diet book; apparently its nutty flavor really compliments brownie recipes. So much so, the woman writing the book who mentioned it said she wouldn't give out her recipe as she can't help but inhale all of them at once and she didn't think that was a very good recipe to be sharing with people trying to lose weight, lol. It might be hard to eat a sandwich or a fajita with a really nutty flavor, but I think it would be good in other desserts, like muffins and banana bread and the like.

You can find the amaranth at a health food store or online.

Keriamon
Veteran Member


Date Joined Jun 2005
Total Posts : 2976
   Posted 10/13/2006 9:09 AM (GMT -7)   
Oh, and I bet you can find cookbooks at health food stores for cooking without gluten or cooking with allergies. And don't overlook Asian food; so long as you leave out the rice and noodles (which you may can get gluten-free noodles), you should be good to go. They have a lot of healthy vegetables and don't use milk (except coconut "milk" in some of the Asiatic island dishes). And I have generally found that most any recipe can withstand a meat substitution: if something calls for shrimp, use fish or chicken.

India food should be included in your asian food list. They tend to use yogurt more than milk in their sauces, which should be okay for you so long as you are only lactose intolerant as opposed to dairy intolerant (yogurt having almost no lactose in it). You don't have to spice things as heavily as a recipe calls for if the spices bother you.

pb4
Elite Member


Date Joined Feb 2004
Total Posts : 20576
   Posted 10/13/2006 6:09 PM (GMT -7)   
Gentlefoot :)

Have you been tested for celiacs disease?

:)

jhmom
Veteran Member


Date Joined Oct 2004
Total Posts : 2244
   Posted 10/13/2006 7:26 PM (GMT -7)   
Celiac disease (aka : gluten sensitivity) is an intolerance to gluten, which is a protein found in wheat, rye, barley and oats.  I was dx with it in Sept 03 after 2 doctors thought I had IBS.  I can tolerate rice, potato, tapioca flours and corn or rice pasta.  The corn pasta is the closest I have found to regular pasta and you can't overcook rice pasta or it turns out nasty!! 



Stacie
 
Trust in the Lord with all thine heart, and lean not unto thine own understanding
 
~ Proverbs 3:5 ~
 
DX with: Lupus, Hashimoto's & Celiac
 
Imuran, Plaquenil, Flexeril, Piroxicam, Levoxyl and Folic Acid

Post Edited (jhmom) : 10/17/2006 3:48:18 PM (GMT-6)


Gentlefoot
New Member


Date Joined Oct 2006
Total Posts : 3
   Posted 10/17/2006 1:27 AM (GMT -7)   
I haven't been tested for Coeliacs but I kinda worked out I was intolerant to something back in January. I am indeed lactose intolerant also and for many years I haven't been able to eat shellfish either (that makes me seriously ill). Oh yeah, and all of a sudden I became intolerant to Ibuprofen of all things :)
 
I've found that I cannot eat wheat, corn, millet and rice for sure. I haven't yet tried oats or barley.
 
I do seem to be becoming less sensitive over time though. Every now and then I'll have some dairy or wheat and over the last couple of months the symptoms have been less pronounced when I have done this.
 
Haven't tried any of these gluten free flours apart from chick pea flour but I've only used it for Bhajis.
 
I haven't tried baking with any of these wierd and wonderful gluten free flours. Never been hugely into baking. Miss pasta the most but I've tried all sorts of wheatflour alternative pastas but I've reacted to every single one unfortunately.
New Topic Post Reply Printable Version
Forum Information
Currently it is Saturday, December 03, 2016 4:52 AM (GMT -7)
There are a total of 2,732,004 posts in 300,981 threads.
View Active Threads


Who's Online
This forum has 151148 registered members. Please welcome our newest member, Cary Breef.
201 Guest(s), 4 Registered Member(s) are currently online.  Details
lynbrez, imagardener2, Redwing57, Bhutan boy


Follow HealingWell.com on Facebook  Follow HealingWell.com on Twitter  Follow HealingWell.com on Pinterest
Advertisement
Advertisement

©1996-2016 HealingWell.com LLC  All rights reserved.

Advertise | Privacy Policy & Disclaimer