Hi Irishmom! Welcome! I just want to say that the sources of gluten are wheat, barley, rye and possibly oats. Therefore, by eliminating wheat from your diet, you are practically gluten-free already!
Here in the states, at least, barley,rye and oats aren't nearly as common as food additives (hidden sources of gluten) as wheat. I see rye breads and wheat breads with oats added at the store, but again, wheat is the number 1 source out there!
Eliminating all gluten products would not necessarily mean you would have to eat more veggies! You can add other healthy foods to your diet like fruits, more protein, nuts, rice, etc., or you can try some of the gluten free breads and crackers on the market! If you decide to go wheat free or completely gluten free, just remember there are countless hidden sources in pre-packaged foods on the market. If you google "hidden sources of gluten" you can find lists of what to look for/how to spot it.
Good luck to you!
Mom to 16 year old son diagnosed in June, 2007.
Omega 3s, digestive enzymes, probiotics, vit. C, calcium w/D3, a good multivitamin and SCD legal yogurt
Started The Maker's Diet in Sept. '07. Incorporate Specific Carbohydrate Diet (SCD) recipes, too.