Some doctors don't seem to know anything, that's what I can say but I don't know if Oatmeal is bad.
Razzle - The Oatmeal I get is Quaker brand and it's made from whole grain or something, is that bad? You mentioned gluten and you mentioned grain free oats but brown rice is also a whole grain, I'm so confused.
"Whole grain" just means that the fiber (bran) has not been milled away; it is a term that can apply to any grain (wheat, rye, barley, oats, corn, rice, etc.). I actually said oats are often cross-contaminated with gluten from wheat/rye/barley here in the USA, but there are companies who sell oats which do not have this cross-contamination and therefore are safe for those trying to avoid gluten.
"Gluten" is a type of protein found in wheat, rye, and barley (and in cross-contaminated oats); this is the protein that causes the inflammation and symptoms seen in those with Celiac Disease.
I hope this helps clarify...take care,