Allergy to wheat

New Topic Post Reply Printable Version
[ << Previous Thread | Next Thread >> ]

jenny7710
New Member


Date Joined Jan 2011
Total Posts : 12
   Posted 2/19/2011 6:53 PM (GMT -7)   
I was just wondering if anyone knew, i just had to put my almost 3 year old son on a wheat free diet due to either celiac disease or an allergy to wheat (not sure yet which one it is) and i wanted to know if he could have food with soy or whey in it? I got some information on what he cant have and the list is VERY long but those two were not on it so if anyone could help me that would be great...
Thanks

*I just put a title to your post*

Post Edited By Moderator (Red_34) : 2/20/2011 7:22:51 PM (GMT-7)


couchtater
Elite Member


Date Joined Jul 2009
Total Posts : 14475
   Posted 2/20/2011 4:03 PM (GMT -7)   
Soy comes from soy beans. Whey comes from cheese (milk). If these are on the no list then he can't have them.
Joy

Chartreux
Veteran Member


Date Joined Aug 2006
Total Posts : 9657
   Posted 2/21/2011 11:00 AM (GMT -7)   
Go to a place called whole foods and ask if they can help or do a google search and
make sure to read all labels, everything that's listed...Wal-Mart is now selling gluten free products.
Good luck and well wishes on this...
(((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((Jenny7710)))))))))))))))))))))))))))
well wishes and healing hugz
**********************************************
* So many dx's I could write a book* "It would be nice if we could use the edit button in real life"...
********>^..^<********>^..^<*******

Alcie
Veteran Member


Date Joined Oct 2009
Total Posts : 4927
   Posted 2/21/2011 5:03 PM (GMT -7)   
There are allergy tests for wheat, blood test for celiac (although it's not highly accurate). You won't get an accurate reading unless he eats wheat for a while before the tests. See a good allergist. If the problem is celiac, it's necessary to get a diagnosis to avoid cancer.

There are plenty of foods without wheat - meat, vegetables, fruits, milk, juice, rice, potatoes, salad, ... Stay away from sauces unless you cook them yourself using corn starch or tapioca. Tapioca and rice make good puddings. Don't buy the store ones. Avoid sandwiches, quick, processed foods, fast food restaurants. Check out some recipes on the many gluten free websites.

I can't eat processed foods or a lot of restaurant foods with sauces and seasonings. I have worse sensitivities than just wheat, but at least it's a sensitivity, not an allergy.
Alcie
 
 
New Topic Post Reply Printable Version
Forum Information
Currently it is Monday, December 11, 2017 2:54 AM (GMT -7)
There are a total of 2,903,886 posts in 318,695 threads.
View Active Threads


Who's Online
This forum has 158106 registered members. Please welcome our newest member, Pottybutt.
178 Guest(s), 4 Registered Member(s) are currently online.  Details
polkadotdress, OriolCarol, testuser1234, fiddlecanoe